Skip to Main Content

Copyright at Lambton

Utilizing, Sharing and Posting Online Materials

Materials found on the Internet are afforded the same copyright protection as print materials. This includes all text, graphics, images, sound, video, news and games available on the Internet, as well as postings to news groups and email messages. Sharing links to online materials, rather than making a copy, is the easiest way to share with students, faculty and classmates. Sharing materials directly from TLC Electronic Resources is strongly encouraged, and Open Educational Resources can be a terrific (and free!) supplement to an expensive textbook. 

When using online materials, you must source the work properly and link to the material in your D2L course. This ensures all materials that are shared are for educational purposes as required by Fair Dealings. When sharing articles from the TLC’s Research Databases, post the article’s permalink in D2L rather than making a copy.  

Before copying something found on a website (the work needs to be fully cited), you must consider the six Fair Dealing Factors and should use a legally posted copy. Content retrieved from password protected websites cannot be reproduced without consent. 

Using Library Electronic Resources

The Library & Learning Commons has thousands of resources available to you and your students at no additional cost. It is free to use library resources and link them to your D2L course, however, copyright allowances still exist (please see Fair Dealings). Concurrent use of eBooks, research articles, and video streaming is available so you and your students can utilize the materials at the same time with no loans, returns, cost, or late fees to worry about. 

Library resources can be legally distributed to students by posting persistent links (permalinks) in the D2L shell for that course. A permalink exists in the electronic record for most eBooks and online articles and are easily copied, shared, and can be posted in D2L, emails, Word Documents, and Microsoft Teams. Please contact copyright@lambtoncollege.ca with questions of how to find and share permalinks.  

The copyright for materials contained in the databases belongs to the vendor of the database and/or the publisher of the original publication. 

Do not engage in systematic or substantial printing, copying or downloading of content (e.g. entire journal issues, full books) 

It is normally acceptable to: 

  • Search, view, retrieve and display content in a course for non-commercial personal, instructional, or academic research needs 
  • Save, print or make copies of reasonable amounts or parts of the resources (such as individual journal articles) for use in a course or non-commercial personal, instructional, or academic research needs 
  • Share content with other current Lambton College students and employees in D2L or Microsoft Teams 
  • Post links to specific content in D2L or Microsoft Teams 

It is not normally acceptable to: 

  • Sell, share, or redistribute content, or provide access to someone who is not a current student or employee 
  • Post actual content or articles to websites or list-serves either private or public 
  • Modify or alter the content of licensed resources in any way  

Sharing Course Material Online

Share Links! 

The easiest and safest way to share is to share links!  

Links are a means of sharing information without copying. Link to: online websites, periodicals, videos, Open Educational Resources, and TLC Electronic Resources, including scholarly articles from our databases, eBooks, research tools, and video streaming (including LinkedIn Learning).  

Important Facts about using links: 

  1. Always link to originally created content, posted by the creator themselves. For example, if you are linking to a National Geographic video on how butterflies drink turtle tears, be sure National Geographic posted it, not someone who videotaped it on their phone and uploaded it to YouTube.
  2. Do remember to Remotely Authenticate yourself the proper way using your mylambton username and password. Please instruct your students to do so as well.  
  3. Always remember to post the permalink to an article that is in a library database. This ensures your students can access the links off campus.

Linking to Articles or eBooks in Databases (Permalinks)

Using permalinks for library electronic resources has never been easier! 

  1. In the article record, click “Permalink” or “Get Link” usually located on the right-hand side of the page. Copy the link provided there. 
  2. If the link does not start with the Remote Access extension, http://ra.ocls.ca/ra/login.aspx?inst=lambton&url=, you must add it to the beginning of the link. This ensures that your students will be able to access the article off-campus.  
    For example: An article in Gale provided me with this link: https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/A323259185/AONE?u=ko_acd_lac&sid=AONE&xid=82d84b33 and so I must add the extension to form: http://ra.ocls.ca/ra/login.aspx?inst=lambton&url=https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/A323259185/AONE?u=ko_acd_lac&sid=AONE&xid=82d84b33 
  3. Post this newly combined link in D2L. 
  4. Make students aware that they will have to log in using their Lambton College credentials in order to access the article.   
  5. All databases look different and it can often be confusing to figure out which link is the right one to use. If you have questions, please don’t hesitate to contact the TLC at asklibrary@lambtoncollege.ca  

Digital Slide Shows and Required Readings

Don’t start digitizing your textbook or other course materials! Fair Dealings applies to all materials copied and shared online in the same ways as in-class materials. If you intended to hand out a hardcopy in class, it’s probably okay to post online in D2L (see Fair Dealing guidelines for what is allowed). 

Regarding slide presentations, it is legal to share the copyright complicit, in-class slide show you had prepared in a recorded or live video lecture to your students. An explicit part of Canadian Copyright stipulates that all course material be shared in a secure, course specific LMS. In Lambton’s case, that is D2L and so, all recorded lectures, links, materials, etc., must be posted and accessible through that interface rather than any other web service. 

Open Educational Resources (OERs)

Open educational resources (OERs) are free, accessible, electronic learning resources that make access to information easier and more cost effective to students. OERs are protected by Creative Commons licenses and are generally easily sharable with students and colleagues. You can  link to whole textbooks or single chapters in your D2L course by sharing a link or putting links to the material in a word document for required or suggested reading. For more information on OERs, or for help from library staff to help source OERs, please see our Library Services for Faculty page. 

Creating New Online Content

We encourage you to create your own content, be it videos, an open textbook, or instructional handouts. However, since you cannot use copyrighted material, you must use copyright-free alternatives and attribute back to them. For example, if you require royalty-free music, check out Bensound. For images, you may like to check out Pixabay, and for creative posters, handouts or other documents, have a look at Canva. Also, consider searching for Creative Commons licensed materials, or items in the Public Domain. You can also consider adapting OER materials, or simply adopting them by linking to them in your D2L course.