Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

How to Research

Citation Styles

Citation Styles               Citation styles (Lambton uses APA) provide guidelines on how to properly format your assignment and your citations. These include:

  • All the elements of a complete title page.
  • How to include in-text citations in the body of your essay.
  • The necessary information needed for complete references.
  • Formatting rules for your references page.

   This page will also introduce:

  • Citation tools, including built-in citation tools in library resources and word processors, citation generators, and citation managers.

APA Style

APA Formatting

Basic APA style includes the following elements:

  • All work must be double-spaced.
  • Acceptable fonts include Arial (size 11), Calibri (size 11), Georgia (size 11), or Times New Roman (size 12).
  • Page numbers in the top-right corner on every page (including title page).
  • All paragraphs within the essay are to be indented.

The Lambton College APA Guide (2020) below provides many details and examples.

Note: Be very cautious to follow punctuation and capitalization rules/examples exactly. 

Citation Tools

Citing Online Library Resources

Most library databases have a citation function built into them. These are located on the detailed record screen once you have selected your article or eBook (click on the example below).

Example of detailed record with citation link circled in red

Note: Always double-check citations using our APA guide.

 

Word Processor Tools

Word processing software, such as Microsoft Word and Google Docs, have built-in tools to help you create citations and references.

Note: Always double-check citations using our APA guide.

 

Microsoft Word logo  Microsoft Word

Screenshot of the References tab in Microsoft Word to demonstrate in-program citation tools.   

Microsoft Word has a citation tool built-in. To access this tool, use the ribbon to navigate to the References tab.

  • Use Manage Sources to input bibliographical information (e.g., author, title, date, publication, etc.).
  • Click Insert Citation to input an automatically generated in-text citation to your document.
  • Select Bibliography to insert references to your document.
  • The citation style can be changed by selecting your preferred style (e.g., APA, MLA) from the Style dropdown menu.

For more information on how to create a bibliography, citations, and references, check out Microsoft's webpage.

Google Docs logo  Google Docs

There are two ways in which to cite in Google Docs:

1) Download an add-on (such as EasyBib or Paperpile). For information on how to use add-ons in Google Suite, check out Google's help page.

2) *New* Cite within Google Docs by selecting Tools > Citations (see Image 1 below).

Screenshot of a Google Document showing how to access citation tools under "Tools"

Image 1. Accessing the Citations tool from the Tools dropdown menu in Google Docs.

When the Citations tool is selected, you will see a sidebar called "Add Citation Source" (see Image 2 below) and prompted to select a source type (e.g., Book, Journal Article), how it was accessed (e.g., Website, Online Database), and add the bibliographic information (e.g., Author(s), Title).

Screenshot of the Add Citation Source tool in Google Docs

Image 2. Add Citation Source is where the user will input bibliographical information about the resource used.

What are Citation Generators?

Citation generators are free web tools that help you create citations, manage bibliographies (reference lists), and even scan your paper for plagiarism.

Note: Always double-check citations created by a citation generator using our APA guide.

 

Top Picks

What are Citation Managers?

Citation Managers are tools that capture metadata (information such as title, author, publication, date, etc.) directly from library and web resources which can then be used to generate citations. These tools integrate with word processing software to insert citations and bibliographies.

Why Should You Consider a Citation Manager?
  • Great for large research projects
  • Store all your research in one place so it's easy to find, organize, and use
  • Easily remember, access, and reorganize sources found months or years ago
  • Save time formatting your articles or papers

List source: Moon Library: Why Use a Citation Manager?

Note: Always double-check citations created by citation managers using our APA guide.

 

Top Picks